Skip to content

[Feature Request]: Tell the user how to back out of a decision to have Codelite rebuild the program every time before running or debugging it #3936

Description

@Robin-Whittle

Describe your idea in details

There is a potentially handy, but also potentially annoying, feature by which Codelite, when we give the command to debug a program, puts up a dialog box (or whatever it is called) which asks "Would you like to build the project before debugging it". I find this a minor annoyance because it appears even when the current code, as shown in the editor and as in the source file(s) on disk, is unchanged from when I last built it.

I tried accepting the invitation to do so, with the box ticked for "Remember my answer and don't ask me again". Now it rebuilds every time, including when the project has just been built.

If the program was large, this automatic rebuild would take some time.

I don't know how to turn the auto-rebuild option off.

I suggest that the dialogue box mention how to turn this of and that there be some way of doing so which is readily apparent in the Debugger section of the Project > Settings system. I was unable to find any such facility in Project > Settings or in in the main (for Codelite, not just for a project) Settings system.

A similar arrangement exists when using Build > Run. "Would you like to build the active project before executing it?" Here is a screenshot.

Image

Thanks for Codelite!

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

Labels

Projects

No projects

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions